Dear Secretary,

I wish to propose the following for consideration by your committee when drawing up the new Sligo County Council electoral areas. I have endeavoured to keep my suggestions within the terms of reference outlined and within the social and economic ties areas have within County Sligo.

Summary of my proposals are as follows:

Electoral Area	Population	Number of members	Variance
Tubbercurry – West Sligo Municipal District	14,597	4	+1%
Ballymote Municipal District	17,539	5	-3.7%
Sligo Strandhill LEA	18,122	5	-0.4%
Sligo North LEA	15,277	4	+4.9%
Total	65,535	18	+1.8%

# **Tubbercurry West Sligo Municipal District:**

## Population 14,597 = 4 Seats = +1% Variance from terms of reference

This configuration gives an almost 50-50 divide either side of the Ox Mountains which will in turn lend itself to a more democratic and equal local electoral area.

Achonry East, Achonry West, Aclare, Aughris, Banada, Branchfield, Breencorragh, Buncrowey, Carrownaskeagh, Cartron, Castleconnor East, Castleconnor West, Cloonacool, Cloonoghill, Dromard East, Dromard West, Dromore, Easky East, Easky West, Glendarragh, Kilglass, Kilmacteige, Kilturra, Leitrim, Loughill, Mullagheruse, Owenmore Rathmacurkey, Skreen, Streamstown, Templeboy North, Templeboy South Tobercurry, Toberpatrick East, Toberpatrick West.

#### **Ballymote Municipal District:**

### Population 17,539 = 5 Seats = -3.7% Variance from terms of reference

There are a number of small urban settlements within this LEA and I have included a hinterland around each of Collooney, Ballisodare, Riverstown and Ballymote to more accurately reflect the social and economic movements within this area.

Ballintogher East, Ballintogher West, Ballysadare East, Ballysadare West, Collooney, Aghanagh, Annagh, Ballymote, Ballynakill, Ballynashee, Bricklieve, Carrickbanagher, Coolaney, Coolavin, Cuilmore, Drumcolumb, Drumfin, Drumrat, Kilfree, Killadoon, Killaraght, Kilmactranny, Kilshalvy, Lakeview, Lisconny, Riverstown, Shancough, Temple, Templevanny, Toomore.

## **Sligo Municipal District:**

I propose one Municipal District with one Cathaoirleach/Mayor containing two subdivisions.

The issues in creating this Municipal are where to divide the current 10 seater. Proposals to create a North Sligo with 3 seats would give it a far superior representation level per head of population in comparison to other areas in the County. Prior to 2014 the North Sligo Ward was included in the old Sligo Drumcliff area and therefore has a long established connection with its rural hinterland.

I believe that my subdivision outlined below gives a fairer representation as a sole three seat LEA in the County would be dwarfed by larger 6 seaters should they be created. In summary the divide would be the Garavogue River in Sligo town which was previously used in the old Borough Council and previous County Council divisions.

Sligo Strandhill LEA: Population 18,122= 5 Seats = -0.4% Variance from terms of reference Sligo East, Sligo West, Kilmacowen, Knocknaree.

Sligo North LEA: Population = 15,277 = 4 Seats = +4.9% Variance from terms of reference Calry, Carney, Cliffony North, Cliffony South, Drumcliff East, Drumcliff West, Glencar, Lissadell East, Lisadell North, Lisadell West, Rossinver East, Rossinver West, Sligo North.

Regards,

Sean McMahon